Global Network

HEFEI Statement In October 2013 international associations of research universities came together in Hefei China under the name “HEFEI Statement on the ten characteristics of contemporary research universities.”

The alliance pledged itself to 10 characteristic features of research universities, which they would work together to uphold and expand. The associations work together to fill out these characteristics and deliberately stand up for the corresponding values for research and education.

The HEFEI Statement can be found here.

At the end of November last year, the alliance published a collective paper in Leiden, the Netherlands on the future of the social sciences.

Members include:

Group of Eight (GO8 in Australia)

League of European Research Universities (LERU in Belgium)

Association of American Universities (AAU in the USA)

Chinese 9 Universities (C9 in China)

Association of East Asian Research Universities (AEARU in East Asia)

Research University 11 (RU11 in Japan)

The Russell Group (Russell Group in Great Britain)

Canadian U15 (U15 in Canada)

German U15