Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

The Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn is one of the top-100 research universities worldwide,


Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn
Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn

with around 34,000 students, 550 professors, and 5,500 staff. It offers a wide disciplinary spectrum from Agricultural Science to Tibetan Studies – a full-range university with a strong international orientation.

The University of Bonn is rooted in a 200 years lasting tradition. It was founded in 1818 by Friedrich-Wilhelm III, the Prussian king whose name it bears.

Its academic and research profile features internationally renowned specializations in the fields of Mathematics, Physics/Astronomy, Economics, Chemistry, Pharma Research, Biosciences, Genetic Medicine, Neurosciences and Philosophy/Ethics. Other disciplines, such as Geography and Law, are of outstanding importance within the German research scene.

In the last three decades two professors have received the Nobel Prize: Wolfgang Paul (for Physics, 1989) and Reinhard Selten (for Economics, 1994).

Further information can be found on: www.uni-bonn.de/