U15_Header

Heidelberg University

Established in 1386, Heidelberg University – also known as Ruperto Carola – is Germany’s oldest university and one of Europe’s most research-intensive institutions.

18.02.2016

Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
Bildquelle: Atelier Altenkirch Karlsruhe

Its successes in the Excellence Initiative and its internationally recognised rankings substantiate the leading role and excellent reputation of Heidelberg University in the academic, scientific and research landscape. In educating students and advancing outstanding young researchers, Ruperto Carola emphasises research-based teaching and structured doctoral training programmes in its graduate schools.

Heidelberg University sees itself as a research university, and its broad subject spectrum includes the humanities, the social sciences, law, the natural and life sciences, and medicine. The four interdisciplinary Fields of Focus form the core of Heidelberg’s research strategy: the molecular and cellular basis of life, structure and pattern formation in the material world, cultural dynamics in globalised worlds, and self-regulation and regulation: individuals and organisations.

Over 30,000 students are enrolled in the twelve faculties of Ruperto Carola. With more than 160 degree programmes, Heidelberg offers a preeminent array of subject combinations. The university actively participates in a worldwide network of teaching and research collaborations. International graduate academies, 19 institutional partnerships at the overall university level, and exchange arrangements with over 400 universities throughout the world underscore the strength of Ruperto Carola’s international ties. One in five research associates comes from outside Germany, and the percentage of international fellows in the graduate academies often exceeds 50 percent.

The university is especially committed to advancing exceptional individual disciplines, promoting dialogue beyond traditional disciplinary boundaries, and turning research findings to good use for society and the economy. In this endeavour it relies on strong partners outside the university. Examples include the alliances in the life sciences with the German Cancer Research Centre in Heidelberg or the HEiKA alliance with the Karlsruhe Institute for Technology with its strong focus on the natural and engineering sciences. Pursuant to the Industry-on-Campus (IoC) concept, Ruperto Carola enters into longer-term cooperative partnerships with industry in strategically oriented basic research in order to improve knowledge transfer into application-oriented research. One such IoC organisation that enjoys international visibility is the Catalysis Research Laboratory, or CaRLa, in which university post-docs work together with BASF.

In its efforts to combine European university values such as autonomy, freedom of research and teaching, non-discriminatory access and meritocratic advancement structures with forward-looking academic concepts in research and teaching, Heidelberg University is architecting a bridge to the future – The Future. Since 1386.

Further information can be found on: www.uni-heidelberg.de

U15_Header

Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg

Die 1386 gegründete Ruperto Carola ist die älteste Universität im heutigen Deutschland und eine der forschungsstärksten in Europa.

18.02.2016

Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg
Bildquelle: Atelier Altenkirch Karlsruhe

Ihre Erfolge in der Exzellenzinitiative und in international anerkannten Rankings belegen die führende Rolle und den exzellenten Ruf der Universität Heidelberg in der Wissenschaftslandschaft. In der Ausbildung der Studierenden und der Förderung herausragender junger Forscher setzt die Ruperto Carola auf Schwerpunkte in der forschungsbasierten Lehre sowie eine strukturierte Doktorandenausbildung in ihren Graduiertenschulen.

Die Universität Heidelberg versteht sich als Forschungsuniversität, deren Fächerspektrum die Geistes-, Sozial- und Rechtswissenschaften sowie die Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften einschließlich der Medizin umfasst. Den Kern der Heidelberger Forschungsstrategie bilden die vier disziplinenübergreifenden Forschungsfelder „Molekular- und zellbiologische Grundlagen des Lebens“, „Struktur- und Musterbildung in der materiellen Welt“, „Kulturelle Dynamik in globalisierten Welten“ sowie „Selbstregulation und Regulation: Individuen und Organisationen“.

An den zwölf Fakultäten der Ruperto Carola sind über 30.000 Studierende eingeschrieben. Mit mehr als 160 Studiengängen bietet Heidelberg eine herausragende Vielfalt von Fachkombinationen. Die Universität ist in ein weltweites Netzwerk von Lehr- und Forschungskooperationen eingebunden. Internationale Graduierten- und Promotionskollegs, 19 institutionelle Partnerschaften auf Ebene der Gesamtuniversität und Austauschbeziehungen mit über 400 Universitäten weltweit dokumentieren die starke internationale Verflechtung der Ruperto Carola. Jeder fünfte wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter kommt aus dem Ausland, in Graduiertenkollegs liegt der Anteil der internationalen Kollegiaten oft über 50 Prozent.

Ein besonderes Anliegen der Universität ist es, hervorragende Einzeldisziplinen weiterzuentwickeln, den Dialog über traditionelle Fächergrenzen hinweg zu fördern und die Forschungsergebnisse für Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft nutzbar zu machen. Dabei setzt sie auf Kooperationen mit starken Partnern außerhalb der Universität. Beispiele sind die Allianzen in den Lebenswissenschaften mit dem Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum in Heidelberg oder die besonders von den Natur- und Ingenieurwissenschaften geprägte HEiKA-Allianz mit dem KIT in Karlsruhe. Mit dem Konzept „Industry on Campus“ (IoC) geht die Ruperto Carola längerfristige Kooperationen mit der Industrie in der strategisch orientierten Grundlagenforschung ein, um den Wissenstransfer in die anwendungsorientierte Forschung zu verbessern. Eine beispielhafte IoC-Einrichtung mit internationaler Sichtbarkeit ist das Katalyseforschungslabor CaRLa, in dem Postdoktoranden der Universität und der BASF zusammenarbeiten.

In ihrem Bestreben, europäisch-universitäre Werte wie Autonomie, Freiheit von Forschung und Lehre, diskriminierungsfreien Zugang und meritokratische Aufstiegsstrukturen mit zukunftsweisenden wissenschaftlichen Konzepten in Forschung und Lehre zu verbinden, lebt die Universität Heidelberg den Brückenschlag in die Zukunft – Zukunft. Seit 1386.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.uni-heidelberg.de