U15_Header

German U15: Large German research universities join forces to represent their interests

U15 Karte
U15 Karte
Bildquelle: Nora Lorz Design
Fotolia
Fotolia

 

 

Who We Are

 

We, the U15 universities, comprise the strategic interest group for research-intensive, internationally regarded German universities with top medical faculties. U15 is our communication platform through which we define common goals and devise our strategies.

 

In the think tank U15 we operate as an expert network for higher education and research politics in order to make our goals visible. In this way, we evoke new ideas and incentives for higher education and research politics, and inform the public of the meaning and value of major research universities for society.

 

We U15 universities are internationally regarded, highly reputable for excellence in research and largely renowned. Our graduates are internationally-sought employees in science, social enterprise, business and politics. We offer a full range of subjects within the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and life sciences.

 

We qualify 31% of all students in Germany, preparing them for individual careers. 35% of all international students and 42% of all international doctorates study with us.

 

 

 

Moreover, our high visibility in all aforementioned fields and critical size bring us together. These factors result in strategic and structural challenges that we face together.

 

Each of our universities maintains its own strong, developed profile, unique history and culture. Through U15 we foster these profiles with the appropriate measures, thereby raising their potential.

 

With our distinct profiles and internationally visible research prowess, we are a member of the Research Universities International. Established in 2013, this global network of research universities unites approximately 180 research universities from different countries including Australia, China, the United Kingdom, Japan, Canada and the United States. Of these universities, about 150 belong to the top 200 universities worldwide.

 

What We Do

 

We conduct analyses and create reports with the goal of making our research results available to society, for a Europe that is future-oriented and innovative. Our goal is to successfully shape our universities with regard to sustainable strategies for higher education and research politics.

 

What We Want

 

It is our common duty, as an association for research-intensive universities, to serve society. As institutions for education and research, we aim to facilitate long-term security in the future by providing new knowledge to society.

 

We work to enable our students to carry out their studies by doing our best to qualify them for a future in science, social enterprise, politics and business.

 

We envision ourselves as places of knowledge production and places of knowledge transfer, which includes the education of students, graduates, staff as well as research and management personnel.

 

Our core duties, as stated in our guiding principles are:

 

  1. enabling long-term strong, basic research
  2. offering our students research-oriented teaching
  3. conducting the transfer of knowledge between society, politics and business

U15_Header

German U15: Große forschungsstarke Universitäten in Deutschland vertreten gemeinsam ihre Interessen

U15 Landkarte
U15 Landkarte
Bildquelle: Nora Lorz Design
Fotolia
Fotolia

Wer wir sind

Wir 15 Universitäten bilden die strategische Interessenvertretung forschungsstarker und international sichtbarer medizinführender deutscher Universitäten. U15 ist unsere Kommunikationsplattform. Hier definieren wir gemeinsame Ziele und formulieren unsere Strategien.

Im Think Tank U15 arbeiten wir als Experten/-innennetzwerk für Hochschul- und Forschungspolitik, um unsere Ziele sichtbar zu machen. Wir sind in diesem Sinne Ideen- und Impulsgeber für die hochschul- und forschungspolitische Landschaft. Wir informieren die Öffentlichkeit über die Bedeutung und den Wert großer Forschungsuniversitäten für die Gesellschaft.

Wir U15-Universitäten sind international sichtbar, haben eine hohe Forschungsreputation und einen großen Bekanntheitsgrad. Unsere Absolventen/-innen sind international gefragte Mitarbeiter/-innen in Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik. Wir bieten das volle Fächerspektrum in den Geistes-, Sozial-, Natur- und Lebenswissenschaften.

Wir qualifizieren 31% aller Studierenden in Deutschland und bereiten diese auf ihre individuellen Karrieren vor. 35% aller internationalen Studierenden und 42% aller internationalen Doktoranden/-innen in Deutschland sind bei uns eingeschrieben.

Jede unserer Universitäten prägt ein eigenes gewachsenes und starkes Profil, eine einzigartige Historie und Kultur. Mit U15 unterstützen wir diese Profile mit flankierenden Maßnahmen und heben deren Potentiale.

Mit diesen eigenständigen Profilen und der international sichtbaren Forschungsstärke sind wir im Verbund Mitglied bei Research Universities International. In diesem 2013 gegründeten globalen Netzwerk von Forschungsuniversitäten sind ca. 180 Forschungsuniversitäten von Australien, China, über Großbritannien, Japan und Kanada bis hin zu den USA unter einem Dach vereinigt. Davon gehören etwa 150 Universitäten zu den besten 200 Universitäten der Welt.

Was wir tun

Wir erstellen Analysen und Berichte mit dem Ziel, unsere Forschungsergebnisse der Gesellschaft für ein zukunftsorientiertes und innovatives Europa zur Verfügung zu stellen. Unser Ziel ist die erfolgreiche Gestaltung unserer Universitäten im Hinblick auf tragfähige hochschul- und forschungspolitische Strategien.

Was wir wollen

Unsere gemeinsame Aufgabe ist es, im Verbund forschungsstarker Universitäten der Gesellschaft zu dienen. Als Einrichtungen für Bildung und Forschung wollen wir eine langfristige Zukunftssicherung ermöglichen, indem wir der Gesellschaft neues Wissen zur Verfügung stellen.

Wir setzen uns dafür ein, unseren Studierenden ein Studium zu ermöglichen, in dem wir sie bestmöglich für eine Zukunft in Wissenschaft, Gesellschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft qualifizieren.

Wir sehen uns als Orte der Wissensschöpfung und als Orte des Wissenstransfers. Hierzu gehört die Bildung von Studierenden, Absolventen/-innen, Mitarbeitern/-innen sowie des forschenden und managenden Personals.

Unsere Kernaufgaben, die in unseren Gründungsleitlinien stehen, sind


1)           starke Grundlagenforschung auf Dauer zu ermöglichen,
2)           forschungsorientierte Lehre für unsere Studierenden anzubieten und
3)           Wissenstransfer in Gesellschaft, Politik und Wirtschaft zu betreiben.

 

.