U15_Header

Facts and Figures

The German U15 universities represent their common strategic interests together, in order to further improve overall conditions for science, research and teaching. Their goal is to raise awareness of the teaching and research performance, the social significance and the knowledge-creating and economic potential of the leading German full-scale universities among policymakers, industry and society.

The potential of the U15 universities and their impact on the German scientific landscape is demonstrated by the following figures:

At a Glance

The German U15 universities represent 13% of all 117 German universities and raise 37% of all third-party funds in Germany. They also account for approx. 60% of all third-party funds raised by university medical institutions.

Of the 1.55 million students enrolled in German universities, 32% study at the U15 universities.

35% of all international students in Germany are educated at the U15 universities. Of all non-German students enrolled in German universities, 36% are enrolled in degree programmes and 42% in doctoral degree programmes at the U15 universities.

Of the roughly 1,500 doctoral degrees awarded each year in Germany, almost half (46%) belong to students at U15 universities. 43% of all doctoral degrees awarded in Germany are supervised at our universities. The U15 universities also account for 32% of all other degrees awarded at German universities.

The U15 universities are host universities to 54% of the collaborative research centres currently supervised by the DFG. They also account for 46% of all current DFG research training groups.

Since their inception in 1999, 43% of all Leibniz awards have been conferred upon scientists at U15 universities.

Of all the ERC grants awarded since 2007, 30% of the starting grants and 40% of the advanced grants were given to members of the German U15 universities.

header1

Zahlen Daten Fakten

Mit der Zielsetzung, die Bedingungen für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Lehre weiter zu verbessern, vertreten die GermanU15 ihre strategischen Interessen gemeinsam. Ihr Anliegen ist es, die Lehr- und Forschungsleistungen, das gesellschaftliche Wirken sowie die Wissen schaffenden und ökonomischen Potentiale der führenden deutschen Volluniversitäten der Politik ebenso wie der Wirtschaft und der Zivilgesellschaft stärker bewusst zu machen.

Die Potentiale der U15 sowie deren Bedeutung in der deutschen Wissenschaftslandschaft leiten sich aus folgenden Zahlen ab:

Zahlen Daten Fakten

Die German U15 stellen 13% aller 121 deutschen Universitäten dar und werben 37% der Drittmittel in Deutschland ein. Dazu kommen etwa 59% aller der von universitätsmedizinischen Einrichtungen eingeworbenen Drittmittel.

 

Von den 1,61 Mio. an allen deutschen Universitäten eingeschriebenen Studierenden sind 31% an den Universitäten der U15 immatrikuliert.

An den Universitäten der U15 werden 35% aller ausländischen Studierenden ausgebildet. Von den in Deutschland insgesamt immatrikulierten Bildungsausländern sind 36% in Studiengängen der Universitäten des Vereins eingeschrieben und 42% in Promotionsstudiengängen.

 

Von etwa 1.646 Habilitationen, die jährlich in Deutschland abgeschlossen werden, sind knapp die Hälfte der Arbeiten (44%) an den Mitgliedsuniversitäten des Vereins entstanden. Dazu werden 41% aller im Inland  abgeschlossenen Promotionsverfahren an unseren Hochschulen betreut. Bei allen sonstigen universitären Abschlüssen liegen die Vereinsmitglieder zusammen bei 32% aller Abschlüsse.

 

Die U15 sind Sprecherhochschulen von 54% der aktuell von der DFG betreuten Sonderforschungsbereiche. Dazu kommen 46% aller laufenden DFG-Graduiertenkollegs.

Seit der ersten Ausschreibung der Leibniz-Preise im Jahr 1999 sind 43% der vergebenen Preise an Wissenschaftler der U15 ausgelobt worden.

 

Von den ERC-Grants, die seit 2007 vergeben wurden, sind 30% der Starting Grants und 40% der Advanced Grants von Mitgliedern der GermanU15-Universitäten eingeworben worden.

Letzte Aktualisierung: 14.03.2014

News